Me, Myself… And Everyone Else

Just a young Irish girl, looking for somewhere to share my poetry.

Avarice May 13, 2012

Filed under: Poetry — maisygirl @ 12:54 pm
Tags: , , , ,

Ok, so I know I haven’t posted anything in a long time, but I have exams coming up and I have no free time during the week. I’ll try and get at least one new post each weekend though. Anyway, I hope you enjoy this, it’s the fourth on my Seven Deadly Sins/Seven Heavenly Virtues series.

She surrounds herself with
A cocoon
Of material possessions.
An insulating layer
Of wealth
To keep out all the monsters.
Long grasping fingers
Reaching out
And taking all she can.
She never has enough:
She wants
No, needs more.
And when she
Is so smothered
She can hardly breathe,
She finally
Feels
Safe.

I actually had a lot of difficulty with this poem and Gluttony, because they are quite similiar. However, I hope I did the difference justice with my poems.

 

Leave a Reply

